Blog Tour and Review: The Escape Room – Megan Goldin

Welcome back!

I’m so pleased to have been invited to participate in the blog tour for The Escape Room by Megan Goldin. Don’t forget to check out the blog tour schedule for other wonderful posts on this tour.

Title: The Escape Room
Author: Megan Goldin
Publication date: 25th July 2019
Publisher: Trapeze

Synopsis

Welcome to the escape room. Your goal is simple. Get out alive.

In the lucrative world of Wall Street finance, Vincent, Jules, Sylvie and Sam are the ultimate high-flyers. Ruthlessly ambitious, they make billion-dollar deals and live lives of outrageous luxury. Getting rich is all that matters, and they’ll do anything to get ahead.

When the four of them become trapped in an elevator escape room, things start to go horribly wrong. They have to put aside their fierce office rivalries and work together to solve the clues that will release them. But in the confines of the elevator the dark secrets of their team are laid bare. They are made to answer for profiting from a workplace where deception, intimidation and sexual harassment thrive.

Tempers fray and the escape room’s clues turn more and more ominous, leaving the four of them dangling on the precipice of disaster. If they want to survive, they’ll have to solve one more final puzzle: which one of them is a killer?


Review

Well, flipping heck. This book is a rollercoaster. Four people trapped in a lift, each with their own histories, stories, and motivations. They all have one thing in common – greed.

There are two narratives in this book. A third person narrative of the four people trapped in the lift, and a first person narrative of a woman called Sara Hall. Sara’s story reads almost like a memoir, looking back on her time as an investment banker.

Although the plot is amazingly well-conceived and executed, it was actually Sara’s story that fascinated me the most. Although the world of investment banking is no secret, through Sara Goldin gives an insight into how new graduates are indoctrinated into the world of finance to the point of being brainwashed with the feeling of a cult.

The Escape Room brings to the surface the worst of us as humans living in a capitalist world and just how far we will go to benefit ourselves to the detriment of others. There are horrendous practices taking place that become ‘normal’ as the perpetrators are untouchable.

This book is an addictive, fast-paced psychological thriller which I gladly inhaled. Highly recommended, particularly for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short.

Thanks to Trapeze for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


About the Author

 

Megan Goldin was a journalist before she became a writer. She reported from the Middle East for the Associated Press, Reuters, the (Australian) ABC and other news outlets. She worked in Asia as a reporter and editor for Reuters and Yahoo!.

She is the author of The Escape Room, which will be released in the U.S. and UK in 2019, and The Girl In Kellers Way.

Image and bio taken from megangoldin.com


Order now

Support your local bookshop by buying this book through them or through Hive.co.uk.


Blog Tour Schedule


 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s